good-lace's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dumbfounded

It's lunchtime, and I'm writing this from my puter at work. Yes, work. I was layed off since the hurricane blew through. No one was conducting business, therefore, no work. $150.00 per week in unemployment does not cut it. It's been really stressful.

I'm thinking we're old news to the world. "That Katrina was so long ago everything is back to normal." Not!

Can you imagine being in the U.S. and not being able to find a MickyD's open, or not being able to order pizza or take out chicken? The few places that are open only stay open for a few hours, or close very early. There's no one to take those jobs. I think it's estimated that 50,000 people are back in New Orleans. We used to have close to a half million.

In many neighborhoods here, there is deathly silence - no people, no birds, no grass, no plants, nothing. Eerie.

I have a roof on my house now. The fallen trees have been removed from my yard. Everything is still dead, but green is popping through the muck every where.

It's hard to work knowing there is so much that needs to be done. I want pizza.

2:14 p.m. - 2005-12-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

ilovemy240z
bobrules
celestine
forty-plus
milkmaid
msleslie
squirrelx
jenne1017
chriistyl
peachfront
pandionna
summer-gale
inkdragon
goodsandwich
porktornado
speak-out