good-lace's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Another surgery

My biopsy came up negative, again. While I'm thrilled beyond words, I still have a nagging feeling inside me. I don't know if I'm scared they're missing something, or my 6th sense is telling me that I still have to be careful, I mean in the future. I just don't know.

My surgery is scheduled for Friday morning. I have to be at the hospital at 6:30 am to get another lead wire put in, but this doctor is requesting that two lead wires be put in - it's called blocking. They put one wire on each side of the tumor to block it in, then he removes everything between the two wires. My surgery will be at 9:00 am.

The doctor told me that his best guess is that this was originally some sort of injury to my breast. He said I was hit hard enough to cause the tissue to die. I can't remember ever being hit that hard. Maybe in a car accident, or maybe from all the years I did martial arts. I've been hit a number of times, but I'm guessing the damage is done by less force than I would imagine.

There is still the question of the PEM scan showing something on a cellular level. He said necrotic tissue could show up on a PEM scan. We'll see.

I asked the doctor if I should consider getting that blood test that shows if I'll get breast cancer in the future. He doesn't like that test because I'd probably never get insurance coverage again if it proves positive. He told me that when this is all over and we're both satisfied with the results, he wants to discuss the possibility of putting me on Tamoxin for the rest of my life. That's the new drug that they think will put an end to most breast cancers that are potentiated by female hormones (the majority). I think my cousin's death has stepped up the seriousness of the situation. I'll have to do some big time research on the drug. Sometimes the side effects are too horrible to deal with. I'll have to weight this very carefully.

Fuck! I just want a light hearted moment again.

4:29 p.m. - 2004-05-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

ilovemy240z
bobrules
celestine
forty-plus
milkmaid
msleslie
squirrelx
jenne1017
chriistyl
peachfront
pandionna
summer-gale
inkdragon
goodsandwich
porktornado
speak-out