good-lace's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Gratuitous Blood

We went to see the Jesus movie with 5 people. Everyone absolutely hated it - from the Christian to the Muslim to the Atheist to the Agnostic. Thumbs down all the way.

Me? I thought it was horrible. I had no spiritual connection with the movie whatsoever. I sobbed at man's inhumanity to man - the same way I cry when watching anything about the Holocaust, the Cambodia Killing Fields, etc. I started crying at the look on his mother's face, and from there, everytime they showed her face, I cried. The thought of someone watching their loved one being tortured, just tears me up inside.

The quantity of blood was so obviously gratuitous. Honestly, even the two nurses with us said that could have been the entire blood supply of three people. So unnecessary, to the point of rediculous.

When we walked out it took me a few minutes to compose myself. My first words were "well, that sucked the big one." Everyone had a sigh of relief. No one wanted to be the only one to say they hated the movie.

The one high point for me was that Jesus called out to "Allah". It made me think about all the hateful people who make jokes about the Muslim's "Allah", as if it meant something other than God.

Oh, well.

11:54 p.m. - 2004-04-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

ilovemy240z
bobrules
celestine
forty-plus
milkmaid
msleslie
squirrelx
jenne1017
chriistyl
peachfront
pandionna
summer-gale
inkdragon
goodsandwich
porktornado
speak-out