good-lace's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ho hum

As life remains the same, basically, it also takes different twists and turns in the road.

Sam and I still feel like newlyweds, but a monkeywrench has been thrown in the works by a family member, and his wife and child, becoming homeless and having to move in with us. That's the same family that was totally wiped out by a Florida hurricane and had to be rescued. They can't seem to get their feet firmly on the ground. It's so very hard to make room in your cushy life to accommadate people. It's not as if you can tell people you love to "go live in your car", but still, it's so hard to give up the privacy that we've paid so dearly to have.

I start a new job on Monday for another lawfirm. I hate that I couldn't find a job outside of law. I really wanted to do something different. Besides that, because the lawfirm is outside of the city, I had to take a $1,000.00 a month cut in salary. That really sucks. They have promised me a substantial raise in 3 months. I shall see.

My niece has started chemo for infiltrating breast cancer. Yes, another one of us has the big "C". The doctors estimated that this tumor started growing when she was about 18 or 19 years old. That's really scary. She is in stage 2, which is a good thing, but it's the second worse type to have. (I can't remember the name, but it's not estrogen receptive.) The worst type is inflamatory breast cancer, like the one that killed my cousin last year.

My last surviving sister had a lumpectomy 4 months ago. They found that she has carcinoma in situ, which means that she has the breast cancer markers which will eventually turn into breast cancer. The good news is that the cells are estrogen receptive, so Tamoxifin should stop the development of actual cancer.

Which put my odds of getting breast cancer up to 47.5%. I've been put on Tamoxifin, too, for the next 5 years. The Tamoxifin has forced me into early menopause. I had a couple of mean hot flashes, but other than that, I can deal with it. (Like I have choices.)

If someone would have told me 8 years ago that the day will come when I turn on my computer and can't think of a thing I wanted to do, I never would have believed it. And, so it is.

12:00 p.m. - 2005-06-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

ilovemy240z
bobrules
celestine
forty-plus
milkmaid
msleslie
squirrelx
jenne1017
chriistyl
peachfront
pandionna
summer-gale
inkdragon
goodsandwich
porktornado
speak-out