good-lace's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

$1,000.00 Bet

I mananged to get an advance copy of Fahrenheit 9/11, and because I think every American owes it to him/herself to see this film, I've been loaning it out to everyone.

Just to be fair, I did watch almost an hour of Fahren-hype, which is the movie the Christian right wing/Republicans put out in answer to 9/11. In all honesty, it's pure garbage. I can't believe with their money and influence, they couldn't put together a better answer than that. Anyway...

My friend told me that Fahrenheit 9/11 was pure bullshit. So, I did as any good American would do, I put my money where my mouth was. I told her to watch the movie as many times as necessary, then find one untruth in the movie, and I'd give her $1,000.00. (Except for the timing of when the bin Laden family was wisked out of the country. I'm not sure of that timing, but I do think they were the first planes to fly after the ban was lifted. I don't think they were allowed to fly while all planes were grounded.)

The next day, she told me not only did I not owe her a dime, but that she was voting for Kerry too because she was so furious. (Her BMW and house is now plastered with Kerry bumper stickers because she feels so betrayed.) Poor girl. I tried to tell her.

Next up: A group of us had decided that if Bush or Chaney speak anywhere close to home, that we were going to the event, lying to get passes to go in, and wearing hidden "Vote for Kerry" t-shirts. We were not going to say one word, just expose the shirts after the speach began. People have been going to jail all over the country for wearing Kerry shirts into Republican affairs. So, we decided that we were ready to go to jail to make a point about free speach. (Even though we had no intention of speaking.)

I can't do it. Sam may not be able to get a wonderful job he's thinking about if I go to jail. Jail birds can't pass a security background check. God, I love this country.

Did you know that the Republican candidates have only spoken in front of invited guests? I wish someone would explain to me how they plan on getting new votes when they're only preaching to the choir. I find it the most confusing thing I've heard in a very long time. The only answer is that they are so conceited that they think they have it in the bag with only their goose-stepping fans.

9:24 p.m. - 2004-10-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

ilovemy240z
bobrules
celestine
forty-plus
milkmaid
msleslie
squirrelx
jenne1017
chriistyl
peachfront
pandionna
summer-gale
inkdragon
goodsandwich
porktornado
speak-out